Gretchen Peters – The Show Live From The UK


Gretchen Peters - The Show Live from the UK

Gretchen Peters – The Show Live From The UK
Format: CD
Label: Proper Records – V2 Records
Release: 2022

Release date: August 19, 2022

2022 Marks the 25th year since US singer-songwriter Gretchen Peters first set foot on a UK stage and she is celebrating the anniversary in style with the release of a live album recorded during a 2019 UK tour with her band and an all-female Scottish string quartet, ‘The Show: Live from the UK,’ out on August the 19th on Proper Records.

The Show: Live from the UK is a beautifully presented double-CD, featuring a hardback cover and a collection of evocative live photographs documenting the concerts at which the recordings took place. CD 1 captures 10 tracks Gretchen and her band performed with the string quartet and CD 2 highlights 8 tracks from Gretchen and her band. Full tracklisting below.

Commenting on her new album, Gretchen said: “The whole time we were on the road, I was so aware of the privilege it was to play with these musicians every night. And it was really important to me to document that with this live record. We knew from experience that we would have enthusiastic and supportive audiences in the UK. And that’s, frankly, probably the main source of the energy and the joy that we played with.”

“Living through the last two years of this pandemic, sifting through these recordings which sounded more and more precious to me the further we got from live music, I became convinced that there’s nothing – absolutely nothing – that can replace the magic of several musicians and several hundred people in a darkened room having a moment together.”


CD 1
01. Arguing With Ghosts
02. Hello Cruel World
03. The Secret Of Life
04. Revival
05. Love That Makes A Cup Of Tea
06. Blackbirds
07. When You Love Someone
08. On A Bus To St. Cloud
09. To Say Goodbye
10. When You Are Old

CD 2
01. When All You Got Is A Hammer
02. Disappearing Act
03. Wichita
04. Say Grace
05. Everything Falls Away
06. The Matador
07. Five Minutes
08. Idlewild