Gráinne Duffy – Dirt Woman Blues


Gráinne Duffy - Dirt Woman Blues

Gráinne Duffy – Dirt Woman Blues
Format: CD
Label: Blue Heart Records
Release: 2023

Release date: May 19, 2023

For her fifth studio album, ‘Dirt Woman Blues,’ Irish roots phenom singer-songwriter, and guitarist Gráinne Duffy ventured far from the Emerald Isle to sunny Southern California to find a bigger, bolder sound.

The three-time Blues Matters Writers’ Poll winner, partnered with American blues-rock guitarist Marc Ford, best known as a former member of The Black Crowes, creating a tandem guitar sound with her husband Paul Sherry, also in her band. They enlisted Gary Clark Jr.’s Austin, TX rhythm section; drummer/percussionist JJ Johnson and bass/keyboard player Elijah Ford (Marc’s son) along with Grammy-winning producer Chris Goldsmith, Jimmy Hoyson, Sam Goldsmith, John Ginty and Peter Levin.

The sessions yielded a collection of nine original tracks, composed by Duffy and Sherry, centering around Duffy’s haunting alto and a mash up of songwriting styles from Celtic storytelling to Delta Blues poetry and Laurel Canyon 70’s Rock.

On this ground-breaking release Gráinne Duffy supplies a unique mix of Irish mysticism, soulful vocals, an amazing groove, an extraordinary band, and beautifully crafted lyrics.


01. Well Well Well
02. Dirt Woman Blues 03:49
03. What’s It Going To Be ?
04. Running Back To You
05. Rise Above
06. Sweet Liberation
07. Hold On To You
08. Yes I Am
09. Killycrum