Drive-By Truckers – The Complete Dirty South


Drive-By Truckers - The Complete Dirty South

Drive-By Truckers – The Complete Dirty South
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: New West Records
Release: 2023

Release date: June 16, 2023

In 2004 the Drive-By Truckers released what would become the best selling album in their illustrious catalog. ‘The Dirty South’ is a concept album that examines the state of the South, and unveils the hypocrisy, irony, and tragedy that continues to exist. The album features live show staples like, “Tornadoes”, “Where The Devil Don’t Stay” and “Puttin’ People On The Moon” as well as rarities like “Goode’s Field Road” and “Daddy’s Cup.”

‘The Complete Dirty South’ is a band-led rework of the original album. Principal member, Patterson Hood, took the reins and reimagined this record as it was originally intended. The complete version features resequenced audio, three additional tracks, four remixes along with updated vocals. The packaging comes with a perfect bound book featuring liner notes from Patterson Hood, track by track descriptions from Mike Cooley and Jason Isbell as well as never before seen photos along with updated artwork from the late Wes Freed.

“This ‘Director’s Cut’ is the way it was always intended to be heard” – Patterson Hood


01. Where The Devil Don’t Stay
02. Tornadoes
03. The Day John Henry Died
04. Puttin’ People On The Moon
05. Goode’s Field Road
06. Carl Perkins Cadillac
07. TVA
08. The Sand of Iwo Jima
09. Danko/Manuel
10. The Boys From Alabama
11. The Buford Stick
12. Never Gonna Change
13. Cottonseed
14. The Great Car Dealer War
15. Daddy’s Cup
16. Lookout Mountain
17. Goddamn Lonely Love

Drive-By Truckers - The Complete Dirty South - banner