Dennis Johnson – Revelation


Dennis Johnson - Revelation

Dennis Johnson – Revelation
Format: CD
Label: Booda Lee Records
Release: 2022

Release date: July 15, 2022

Dennis Johnson Announces New Studio Album ‘Revelation,’ Featuring Anton Fig

Critically acclaimed slide guitarist Dennis Johnson has announced the upcoming release of his brand-new studio album ‘Revelation’, due out on July 15. ‘Revelation’ is a slide guitar infused blues rock album that showcases Dennis Johnson pushing slide guitar to new limits, rocking the house. “This is the record I was meant to make” explains Johnson.

A dramatic leap forward for one of the world’s elite slide guitar players, Revelation features some of the most expressive slide guitar you will hear today. His new sound has a raw and vital flavor, combined with a resolute skill that can only be gained through years of perseverance and unyielding dedication. Filled with blues-rockers that show off, respectively, the gutsier and softer side of Johnson’s vocal and slide guitar ability, plus a series of emotive, story-telling solos shaped by Johnson’s uncanny agility on slide guitar.

The rhythm section on the album is anchored by legendary drummer Anton Fig, who has recorded and performed with numerous music luminaries including Joe Bonamassa. Anton Fig is well known as the drummer for Late Night with David Letterman. “Bringing Anton Fig onboard for this record really set the bar with some extraordinary grooves.” Johnson said. “He is one of the best drummers on the world.”

Bassist Jonathan Stoyanoff provides grooving basslines and backing vocals. Stoyanoff, known for this work with Joe Craven, has performed with Dennis Johnson for years. “Jonathan and I were really able to hone in the connection between the bass and guitar for this album.” Johnson explained. “Its our best work together.”

Playing piano and B3 on the album is phenomenal keyboardist Bob Fridzema, known for his work with Walter Trout and Joanna Shaw Taylor. “Bob is a player with great ears to pick spots to weave into a song with a vocal or guitar part.” Johnson said. “Bob really rocked it on this record.”

Engineer Chris Bell, renowned for his works with the likes of Kenny Wayne Shepard, Samantha Fish, and The Eagles, mixed nine songs for the album. Chris stated “I had a blast mixing this record. The pocket and groove are extraordinary!” Famed producer and engineer Kevin Shirley who has worked with Joe Bonnamassa, Aerosmith, and Led Zeppelin, mixed one of the songs for the album.


01. Going Down
02. Talk To You
03. Revelation
04. Salvation Bound
05. 32-20 Blues
06. Please Don’t Go
07. Lonesome Valley
08. Ramblin
09. Two Lights
10. Don’t Owe You A Thing