Dan Penn – Unheard Demos


Dan Penn - Unheard Demos

Dan Penn – Unheard Demos
Format: Green Vinyl LP
Label: Last Music Company – Continental Record Services
Release: 2023

Release date May 8, 2023

As a songwriter, Dan Penn ranks highly as an elder statesman of the classic southern soul genre and needs no further introduction to anyone who digs the real stuff. As a solo performer, his rare concert appearances are rapturously welcomed by fans eager to hear his classic repertoire in its raw form, performed by its creator.

These ten demo recordings provide a unique look behind the curtain at some fine examples of the creative process of songwriting featuring Dan’s soulful voice at its best. They were recorded in 2004 immediately after the sessions that produced ‘Don’t Give Up On Me’ as the title track for Solomon Burke’s comeback album.

This is genuine southern soul music and collectors will really appreciate this being on vinyl. None of the material on this release has ever been heard by the public or made available previously in any format.

These Dan Penn demos were the blueprint for an album he later produced by singer Bobby Purify with a stellar cast of Muscle Shoals session men that was released in 2005. That record was deleted soon after release when “Bobby” reverting to his own name Ben Moore, joined the Blind Boys of Alabama and continued performing with them until his death in May 2022.

Website: https://www.danpenn.com/

01. Forever Changed
02. Better To Have It
03. I’m Qualified
04. Things Happen
05. My Life To Live Over
06. Nobody’s Home
07. Hate to See You Go
08. You Make Me Dig
09. Testimony Of A Fool
10. Somebody’s Gotta Do It