Creedence Clearwater Revival – At The Royal Albert Hall


Creedence Clearwater Revival - At The Royal Albert Hall

Creedence Clearwater Revival – At The Royal Albert Hall
Format: CD – Vinyl – Digital
Label: Craft Recordings
Release: 2022

Release date: November 18, 2022

Creedence Clearwater Revival’s legendary performance at London’s Royal Albert Hall in 1970 is finally officially released as CCR at the Royal Albert Hall in September. Featuring the fabled performance in its entirety, the recording includes such enduring hits as ‘Fortunate Son’, ‘Proud Mary’ and ‘Bad Moon Rising’.

The audio for this release has been restored and mixed by Giles Martin and engineer Sam Okell. The album will be released alongside the documentary concert film Travelin’ Band: Creedence Clearwater Revival at the Royal Albert Hall, narrated by Jeff Bridges and directed by Bob Smeaton (he directed The Beatles Anthology, you may remember). The film takes viewers from the band’s earliest years together in El Cerrito, CA through their meteoric rise to fame. Featuring a wealth of unseen footage, Travelin’ Band culminates with the band’s show at the Royal Albert Hall—marking the only concert footage of the original CCR lineup to be released in its entirety.

The Royal Albert Hall shows were on 14 & 15 April 1970 – just days after the Beatles announced their breakup – and were part of the four-piece’s first European tour – an eight-show run that included stops in Holland, Germany, France, and Denmark. The group were at the height of their powers, having enjoyed five top 10 singles in America in the previous year along with a trio of top 10 albums (Bayou Country, Green River, Willy and the Poor Boys). They’d played to over a million people across the US, including at the Woodstock Festival and a triumphant hometown show at Oakland Coliseum early in 1970.

Confusingly, a decade later in 1980, Fantasy Records released a live album by the band, titled The Royal Albert Hall Concert. However it was quickly discovered that the audio was, in fact, from the aforementioned Oakland Coliseum show. The label did rush to sticker the album to correct the error – and properly renamed the January 1970 performance as The Concert for later production runs – but it was a messy episode. Actual footage and audio from the Royal Albert Hall show has never been issued, until now.

The box set is exclusive to Craft Recordings’ websites in the UK and in the USA.

Creedence Clearwater Revival at the Royal Albert Hall is released on CD, vinyl and cassette on 16 September 2022, via Craft Recordings. However the box set doesn’t ship until 18 November. The documentary film will ‘rollout’ internationally on 16 September although there’s no details at present as to how that will happen.


CD 1: Music from the Film “Travelin’ Band…”
01. Tommy Fogerty and the Blue Velvets – Come On Baby
02. The Golliwogs – Brown-Eyed Girl
03. The Golliwogs – Porterville
04. Susie Q.
05. I Put A Spell On You
06. Proud Mary
07. Born On The Bayou
08. Bad Moon Rising
09. Green River
10. The Night Time Is The Right Time
11. Down On The Corner
12. Who’ll Stop The Rain

CD 2: Creedence Clearwater Revival – At The Royal Albert Hall
01. Born On The Bayou
02. Green River
03. Tombstone Shadow
04. Travelin’ Band
05. Fortunate Son
06. Commotion
07. Midnight Special
08. Bad Moon Rising
09. Proud Mary
10. The Night Time Is The Right Time
11. Good Golly Miss Molly
12. Keep On Chooglin’