Chris Duarte – Ain’t Giving Up


Chris Duarte - Ain't Giving Up

Chris Duarte – Ain’t Giving Up
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: Mascot Label Group – Provogue Records
Release: 2023

Release date: April 14, 2023

Blues-roots guitarist Chris Duarte will release ‘Ain’t Giving Up,’ his 15th studio album, on April 14 via Provogue Records

Featuring a wide range of outlaw blues, Americana, roots, and even alt-country influences, Ain’t Giving Up finds the Austin, Texas guitarist teaming up for the first time in 22 years with producer-guitarist Dennis Herring, also known for his work with artists like Buddy Guy, Modest Mouse, Elvis Costello, and the Hives.

But the resulting album isn’t a calculated return to roots affair. Recorded live on the studio floor with vintage gear and minimal overdubs, it’s a raw and revved-up showcase for the virtuoso’s jaw-dropping chops; his mastery of the elusive Texas shuffle; and his deep love and commitment to the blues.

Ain’t Giving Up is intimate and gritty, but it also boasts pristine fidelity, as if we the listener are in the studio with Duarte and his buddies. It’s a reset for Duarte that shows his resilience and his undiminished love of the blues and American roots. “I am so grateful to be signed to Provogue and to work with Dennis again—it’s been a dream come true,” Duarte enthuses. “I have been so fortunate to play music and do my thing for almost 30 years, and I couldn’t ask for a better life.”


01. Nobody But You
02. Big Fight
03. Bye, Bye, Bye
04. Can Opener
05. Gimme Your Love
06. Come My Way
07. Half As Good As Two
08. Lies Lies Lies
09. Ain’t Giving Up On Us
10. Look What U Made Me Do
11. The Real Low Down
12. Weak Days