Chris Cain – Good Intensions Gone Bad


Chris Cain - Good Intensions Gone Bad

Chris Cain – Good Intensions Gone Bad
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: Alligator Records
Release: 2024

Release date: July 19, 2024


On ‘Good Intentions Gone Bad,’ Cain delivers thirteen lyrically fresh original songs, seven of which add a swinging horn section to the mix. The album was produced by Christoffer “Kid” Andersen (of Rick Estrin & The Nightcats) at his famous Greaseland USA studio in San Jose, California. Good Intentions Gone Bad is, Cain says, “the best album I’ve ever made, thanks to Kid.” With Cain leading the charge on guitar, the band delivers top-shelf performances on every track. From the humorous, true-to-life title track to the epic, slow-burning Waiting For The Sun To Rise to the Memphis soul-inspired Thankful (featuring a shared vocal with Cain’s labelmate, Tommy Castro), the new album finds Cain operating at the absolute peak of his powers, with Andersen pushing him to new heights every step of the way.

With more than three decades of touring and fifteen previous albums under his belt, Cain, once known as “one of the greatest guitarists you’ve never heard,” is now celebrated by fans and fellow musicians alike as being among the blues’ most talented and exciting players. His original songs overflow with surprising hooks and feature razor-sharp lyrics that are moving and humorously insightful.

With his powerful, soul man’s voice and his inventive guitar work—inspired by Grant Green and Wes Montgomery as much as by B.B. King and Albert King—Cain’s talents are unparalleled in the blues world. Living Blues says Cain is currently “turning out the best work of his career.”

I’m so proud of this record,” says Cain. “I know I’ve never sung or played better. Kid’s ideas, the vibe he created…he makes you better while having a great time. This album is the logical next step after (his debut Alligator release) Raisin’ Cain. Everything I hoped for doubled.”


01. Too Little Too Late 3:30
02. Fear Is My New Roommate 3:33
03. Good Intentions 3:15
04. Waiting For The Sun To Rise 4:31
05. I Was Wrong 3:25
06. Time To Cry 3:54
07. Still Drinking Straight Tequilla 3:52
08. Bad Dream 5:39
09. Had About All I Can Take 3:13
10. Blues For My Dad 4:27
11. TGIF 3:55
12. Never Let You Break My Heart 4:59
13. Thankful 2:46