Chris Antonik – Morningstar


Chris Antonik - Morningstar

Chris Antonik – Morningstar
Format: CD – Digital
Label: Second Half Records
Release: 2022

Release date: August 5, 2022

‘Morningstar’ is the fourth studio album from Canadian bluesrock guitarist, singer, songwriter, and 3x-Maple Blues Awardnominee Chris Antonik, featuring special guests, 3x-Blues Music Award-nominee Jarekus Singleton, Multiple Maple Blues Award-winner Paul Deslauriers, and 2x-Grammy Award-winner Mike Mattison (Tedeschi Trucks Band, Derek Trucks Band).

Morningstar is a joyous blend of incendiary blues-rock guitar playing, poignant songwriting, and lush sonic landscapes, that tells a cohesive story of Antonik’s experiences as he enters mid-life. The last few years’ worth of life, love, loss, and growth are synthesized into an epic collection of songs about new beginnings, building community, mindfulness, self-compassion, Antonik’s sobriety, and the power of home.

Co-produced by Juno Award-winning producer Derek Downham and Antonik, the album’s 14 songs take you on an epic sonic journey rooted in blues and blues rock, with intriguing byways taken via routes of soul, future-funk, psychedelia, late-1980’s-Clapton / Robbie Robertson / Daniel Lanois sounds, and experimental turns into blues-based modern rock and hip-hop territories.

While Morningstar is mindful of blues tradition, it is an adventurous record of songs, weaving classic with contemporary, and stretching every idea across the aural spectrum. Through it all, Antonik plays his guitar with unbridled ferocity and passion, mining his soul deeper than he ever has before.

Chris says: “I wanted to do two things with this record – one – push the boundaries of modern blues and bluesrock. And two – tell a sincere story about the human experience that others could relate to. I believe we achieved both. And while each song can be heard as a stand-alone piece, together the tracks comprise an even greater connected saga.


01. Waves of Stone (feat. Jarekus Singleton) (5:13)
02. Pilgrim (4:12)
03. Back to the Good (4:14)
04. Trust in Me (5:12)
05. In Our Home (feat. Alison Young) (5:22)
06. The Greatest of the Americans (Part I) (1:54)
07. The Greatest of the Americans (Part II) (6:15)
08. Learning to Love You (4:23)
9. How to be Alone (5:19)
10. We’re Not Alone (feat. Paul Deslauriers) (3:13)
11. The Promise of Airfields (8:25)
12. Little Man (4:16)
13. Be Here Now (feat. Mike Mattison) (4:47)
14. Grace (6:37)