Chickenbone Slim – Damn Good And Ready


Chickenbone Slim – Damn Good And Ready

Chickenbone Slim – Damn Good And Ready
Format: CD – Digital
Label: VizzTone Label Group
Release: 2023

Release date: August 4, 2023

Chickenbone Slim is an original Blues/Americana touring artist based in San Diego, CA. Signed to VizzTone in 2021, Chickenbone and his band “The Biscuits” have been garnering national and international attention with their unique roots sound. Mixing blues with West Coast swing, rockabilly and roots rock and inspired by local roots artists The Paladins and Candye Kane, the album showcases Chickenbone’s songwriting and the wide range of the band’s talent.

‘Damn Good And Ready’ which comprises twelve original songs, is Chickenbone Slim’s second VizzTone album and his fifth career album overall. Like his previous album, SERVE IT TO ME HOT, it was recorded at producer Kid Andersen’s ultra cool Greaseland Studios in San Jose, California, this time during a week of bomb cyclone rainfall!

The first single “Rock and Roll Soul” is a roots rock anthem and a love song. Featuring a driving beat and solos courtesy of guitarist Laura Chavez and special guest Eric Spaulding on saxophone, this original song showcases the energy and classic feel of Chickenbone Slim and the Biscuits.

Chickenbone Slim and the Biscuits are a four-piece band that features Larry Teves (Chickenbone Slim) on guitar and vocals, Marty Dodson (Fabulous Thunderbirds) on drums, musical prodigy Justice Guevera on electric and standup bass, and internationally acclaimed Laura Chavez on lead guitar.

Laura recently shattered a glass ceiling by becoming the first woman to win the “Best Instrumentalist – Guitar” award at the 2023 Blues Music Awards in Memphis, Tennessee. Since her debut as featured guitarist with Candye Kane, Laura has steadily grown to become one of the most respected guitarists in the industry, recently featured on many prominent albums, and touring steadily with Chickenbone Slim plus other artists including Nikki Hill and Vanesssa Collier.


01. High Ballin’ Train
02. Let’s Go Lindy
03. Drink Me
04. Rather Be Up
05. Damn Good and Ready
06. Deepest Blue
07. Rock and Roll Soul
08. I’m Buying
09. Ice In My Whiskey
10. Old Cat Man
11. Ty Cobb’s Chiclets
12. I Don’t Want to Talk About It