BTTRFLY Quintet – Coast


BTTRFLY Quintet - Coast

BTTRFLY Quintet – Coast
Format: CD
Label: Mocean Records
Release: 2022

Release date: November 4, 2022

BTTRFLY Quintet hails the coming-together of a number of high-profile touring funk, jazz, soul and electronic musicians and producers from Denver, Colorado.

Bringing together instrumentalists from well-known touring groups Big Gigantic, Break Science and Boston funk band Lettuce, their debut album ‘Coast’ (Nov 4th, Mocean Records) satisfies a collective love for adventurous, improvisational, futuristic soul-jazz.

Featuring warm, raw production and a rich world of affected instrumental timbres, the record’s sound sits between being reminiscent of classic funk/soul records of the 1970’s as well as undeniably, excitingly modern.

With playful, subtle musicianship in the spotlight, the record perfectly captures the feel and energy of witnessing an air-tight rhythm section in a live setting. Melodic horn lines, rich harmony, experienced funk songwriting and immersive improvisations take the listener on a dynamic and well-crafted journey, shepherded along by a wealth of satisfying, danceable grooves.

While this may be the first time the world has heard from BTTRFLY Quintet, many will be familiar with the output of its five prolific members.

Alongside their main projects, the group boasts an impressive collective CV of Grammy wins and nominations as well as credits with everyone from New orleans piano legend John Cleary, Derek Trucks’ Tedeschi Trucks Band and global superstars such as Kanye West, John Scofield, Kool & The Gang, Solange, Average White Band, Run DMC, Lee “Scratch” Perry, Dave Matthews Band and Lauren Hill.


01. Marauders (B. Lee)
02. Upperhand (A. Deitch)
03. Coast (D. Lalli)
04. Tijuca (B. Lee)
05. Buried Treasure (E. Bloom)
06. Good Things Come in 3s (A. Deitch)
07. Flume (H. Roberts)
08. Verti Marte (E. Bloom)
09. Moon Strut (A. Deitch)
10. Scribbled Paper (Little Dragon)

Line up:
Eric Bloom – trumpet
Borahm Lee – keyboards ​
Adam Deitch – drums
Hunter Roberts – bass
Dominic Lalli – saxophone