Angela Strehli – Ace Of Blues


Angela Strehli - Ace Of Blues

Angela Strehli – Ace Of Blues
Format: CD – Vinyl LP
Label: Antone’s Records – New West Records
Release: 2022

Release date: November 18, 2022

Angela Strehli returns with ‘Ace of Blues’ on November 18th via Antone’s/New West Records. The 12-song set is her first album in over 17 years and was co-produced by Strehli & her husband Bob Brown.

For over five decades, the 76-year-old Strehli’s voice has coursed through the genre akin to blood through a heart. Her influence can be felt in the legacy of Antone’s — the iconic Austin blues club she helped found with the late Clifford Antone and where she performed & became friends with the likes of Muddy Waters, Albert King, Otis Rush, Jimmy Reed, and countless others.

Ace of Blues pays tribute to the artists who inspired her throughout her career and features renditions of songs made famous by Elmore James, Chuck Berry, Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf, Otis Clay and more. It concludes with “SRV,” a beautiful and personal tribute to the late Stevie Ray Vaughan. As the only original on Ace of Blues, the song celebrates their friendship, creative connection, and musical bond with one of the most heartfelt, hypnotic, and hard-hitting performances on the record.

Buddy Guy calls Ace of Blues, “Tough, soulful, and sexy. My kind of blues” while Bonnie Raitt says, “Always a fan, I’m so glad Angela’s back with a new album, putting her soulful take on this collection that pays tribute to her old blues friends.” Charlie Musselwhite says, “Angela has just kept getting better. She truly loves and ‘gets’ real deal blues and what it means. It’s great to see her share her blues with us all” while Maria Muldaur offers, “Her lifelong devotion to the blues is fully realized here! This is an absolute, must-have album for any blues lover.”


01. Two Steps From The Blues
02. Person To Person
03. Ace Of Spades
04. I Love The Life I Live
05. You Never Can Tell
06. Gambler’s Blues
07. Howlin’ For My Darling
08. Trying To Live My Life Without You
09. Take Out Some Insurance
10. More And More
11. I Wouldn’t Mind Dying
12. SRV