Ally Venable – Real Gone


Ally Venable - Real Gone

Ally Venable – Real Gone
Format: CD – Vinyl LP
Label: Ruf Records
Release: 2023

Release date: March 25, 2023

Texas blues/rock guitarist, vocalist, and songwriter Ally Venable is pleased to announce that she will release Real Gone!, her latest solo effort, on March 24th via Ruf Records.

At 23, Venable is a fiery presence well-known in the roots music world. Her name has grown in stature with each new album and high-energy gig. She’s a ripping guitar player with style and tone for days, a commanding singer, and a songwriter with the power to make blues music that speaks to contemporary fans.

The new record, produced by Grammy winner Tom Hambridge (Buddy Guy, Susan Tedeschi), features guest appearances by Joe Bonamassa and living legend Buddy Guy.  

Venable is that rare musician who can take her old-school influences like Guy and Stevie Ray Vaughan and create music that brings their spirits to today’s listeners where they live.

Together with Isaac Pulido (drums) and EJ Bedford (bass), she gives audiences an entertaining show packed with musical muscle and relatable songs about living, growing, and evolving. 

The first single from Real Gone! is the title track, a straight-up, body-moving rocker. American Blues Scene premiered the video. The second single, to be released on February 24th, is “Texas Louisiana,” a crackling duet with the one-and-only Buddy Guy. Ally and Buddy are an absolute dream team, intertwining their guitars and voices into one without losing any identity or impact. 

On the soulful ballad “Next Time I See You,” Ally downshifts her vocals and shows every dynamic degree of her impressive range. Her guitar work here is equally lyrical and emotive, displaying a gift for phrasing that few players ever attain. The slow grinding jam “Blues Is My Best Friend” lays out the ups and downs of the guitar lifestyle in no uncertain terms and features some of Venable’s most intense playing and singing on the entire set. Ally’s deep, cliche-free authenticity is the common thread running through every song on Real Gone! She speaks her mind without hesitation or apology, turning each track into an honest statement of purpose.  

In December 2022, Guitar World named Ally one of the Top 15 ‘Young Guns,’ Making the Gibson Les Paul Cool Again. That same year, she received the Road Warrior Award from the Independent Blues Music Awards. Additionally, she performed as a featured artist on the Experience Hendrix Show in Austin, TX, appearing alongside Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Zack Wilde, Eric Johnson, and Dweezil Zappa, to name a few.

Ally Venable

With 2019’s Texas Honey and 2021’s Heart of Fire, Venable found herself topping the Billboard charts. Early releases No Glass Shoes (2016) and Puppet Show (2018) created her fanbase, charted on radio, and won several East Texas Music Awards. Venable’s acclaim for addition med performances on Ruf Records’ European Blues Caravan tour brought her international recognition. She has toured the U.S. with Buddy Guy, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Canada with Colin James. 

This year, Ally will be opening for Buddy Guy on his farewell tour, supporting Kenny Wayne Shepherd, rocking Europe again on the Blues Caravan Tour, and doing her headline shows domestically and abroad. 


01. Real Gone
02. Going Home
03. Justifying
04. Broken & Blue (feat. Joe Bonamassa)
05. Don’t Lose Me
06. Any Fool Should Know
07. Texas Louisiana (feat. Buddy Guy)
08. Kick Your Ass
09. Blues Is My Best Friend
10. Gone So Long
11. Hold My Ground
12. Two Wrongs

Ally Venable